New York Medical College

Academics

Academic chairmen

School of Medicine/Graduate School of Basic Medical Sciences Department Chairmen

 

Anesthesiology
Kathryn E. McGoldrick, M.D.  
Chair and Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
New York Medical College
Macy Pavilion, Room 2389
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 493-7693       Fax (914) 493-7927
email: kathryn_mcgoldrick@nymc.edu
email: mcgoldrickk@wcmc.com

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ernest Y.C. Lee, Ph.D.
Chairman and Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
New York Medical College
Basic Sciences Building - Ofc. #109
(914) 594-4059         Fax (914) 594-4058
email: ernest_lee@nymc.edu

Cell Biology and Anatomy
Joseph D. Etlinger, Ph.D.
Chairman and Professor
Department of Cell Biology and Anatomy
New York Medical College
Basic Sciences Building – Rm. #212
(914) 594-4028         Fax (914) 594-4653
email: joseph_etlinger@nymc.edu

Dental Medicine
Joseph F. Morales, D.D.S.
Chairman and Professor of Clinical Dental Medicine
Metropolitan Hospital Center
1901 First Avenue, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10029
(212 ) 423-8977          Fax (212) 423-8495
email: joseph_morales@nymc.edu

Dermatology
Bijan Safai, M.D.
Chairman and Professor
Department of Dermatology
Metropolitan Hospital Center
1901 First Avenue Rm. 1208
New York, NY 10029
(212) 423-7467           Fax (212) 423-8464
email: safai@aol.com

Emergency Medicine
Gregory L. Almond, M.D., M.P.H., M.S.
Chairman and Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine
Metropolitan Hospital Center
1901 First Avenue Rm. 2A18
New York, New York 10029
(212) 423-7175      Fax (212) 423-6383
email: Gregory.almond@nychhc.org

Family and Community Medicine
Montgomery Douglas, M.D.
Chairman and Associate Professor
Department of Family & Community Medicine
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-D43
(914) 594-2260               Fax (914) 594-2261
email: montgomery_douglas@nymc.edu

Medicine
William H. Frishman, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Medicine
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 2N-D24
(914) 594-2080              Fax (914) 594-2081
email: william_frishman@nymc.edu

Microbiology and Immunology
Ira Schwartz, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Microbiology & Immunology
New York Medical College
Basic Sciences Building, Room 308
(914) 594-4175             Fax (914) 594-4176
email:  schwartz@nymc.edu

Neurology
Brij Singh Ahluwalia, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Neurology
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-K09
(914) 594-2200      Fax (914) 594-2201
email: brij_singh@nymc.edu

Neurosurgery
Raj Murali, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Neurosurgery
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-M05
(914) 493-2510      Fax (914) 594-2511
email: raj_murali@nymc.edu

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Howard Blanchette, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 2N-B04
(914) 594-2110         Fax (914)594-2111
email: howard_blanchette@nymc.edu

Ophthalmology
Raymond Wong, M.D.
Interim Chairman
Department of Ophthalmology
Metropolitan Hospital Center
1901 First Ave Room 6022
New York, NY 10029
(212) 423-6457       Fax (212) 423-6149
email: raymond_wong@nymc.edu

Orthopedic Surgery
David E. Asprinio, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Clinical Orthopedic Surgery
New York Medical College
Macy Pavilion Rm. S-008
(914) 493-8743      Fax (914) 493-1230
Bradhurst Tel (914) 789-2734 
email: david_asprinio@nymc.edu
email: aspriniod@wcmc.com

Otolaryngology
Angela Damiano, M.D.
Interim Chairman
Department of Otolaryngology
Westchester Medical Center
Cedarwood Hall, 4th Floor
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 294-0117       Fax (914) 693-5994
email: angeladamiano@optonline.net

Pathology
John T. Fallon III, M.D., Ph.D.
Chairman and Professor of Pathology
Department of Pathology
New York Medical College
Basic Sciences Building
(914) 594-4545       Fax (914) 594-4163
email: john_fallon@nymc.edu

Pediatrics
Leonard J. Newman, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Pediatrics
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 1N-C26
(914) 594-2100         Fax (914) 594-2101
email: lnewman21@aol.com

Pharmacology
Michal Laniado Schwartzman, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
New York Medical College
Basic Sciences Building Rm. 527A
(914) 594-3116         Fax (914) 347-4956
email: michal_schwartzman@nymc.edu

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Eduardo Lopez, M.D.
Chairman of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Associate Professor of Clinical Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 2N-B14
(914) 594-2090         Fax (914) 594-2091
email: eduardo_lopez@nymc.edu

Physiology
Thomas H. Hintze, Ph.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Physiology
New York Medical College
Basic Sciences Building -  Rm. #613
(914) 594-3633         Fax (914) 594-4108
email: thomas_hintze@nymc.edu

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stephen Ferrando, M.D.
Chairman
Dept. of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
New York Medical College
Behavioral Health Center-N325
 (914) 493-7120     Fax (914) 493-1015
email: stephen_ferrando@nymc.edu

Radiation Medicine
Chitti R. Moorthy, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Clinical Radiation Medicine
Department of Radiation Medicine
New York Medical College
Macy Pavilion, Room 1297
(914) 493-1408         Fax (914) 493-8321
email: moorthyc@wcmc.com

Radiology
Zvi Lefkovitz, M.D.
Chairman and Director of Radiology
Professor of Clinical Radiology
Westchester Medical Center
Main Building, SW 266
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 493-6692      Fax (914) 493-6932
email: LefkovitzZ@wcmc.com

Surgery
John A. Savino, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Surgery
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-B60
(914) 594-2050         Fax (914)594-2051
email: john_savino@nymc.edu

Urology
Muhammad Choudhury, M.D.
Professor and  Chairman
Department of Urology
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-B48
(914) 594-2430         Fax (914) 594-2431
email: muhammad_choudhury@nymc.edu.

 

School of Health Sciences and Practice Department Chairmen

Environmental Health Science
Diane E. Heck, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor of Environmental Health Science
SHSP
(914) 594-3383

Epidemiology and Community Health 
Barbara L. Greenberg, PhD
Chair and Professor of Epidemiology
SHSP
914-594-4253

Health Policy and Management
Annette Choolfaian, R.N., M.P.A.
Chair and Professor of Public Health Practice
SHSP - Room 309
(914) 594-4250

Physical Therapy
Michael J. Majsak, P.T., Ed.D.
Chair and Associate Professor
SHSP - Room 302
(914) 594-4915

Speech-Language Pathology
Kathleen Franklin, PhD, CCC-SLP
Chair and Associate Professor of Clinical Speech-Language Pathology
SHSP - Room 215
(914) 594-4239

Updated: Thursday, October 2, 2014