NYMC > About NYMC > NYMC Leadership > Academic Chairs

Academic Chairs

The academic chairs listed below are categorized by their respective school. Please make sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to view all the academic chairs.


SCHOOL OF MEDICINE & GRADUATE SCHOOL OF BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES DEPARTMENT CHAIRS

John Cooley (11-17-16)   

Anesthesiology 

John Cooley, M.D.
Acting Chair and Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology 

Macy Pavilion, Rm. 2389
Phone: (914) 493-7693           Fax: (914) 493-7927

     
 

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ernest Y.C. Lee, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
Basic Sciences Building  Rm. 109
(914) 594-4059         Fax (914) 594-4058
e-mail: ernest_lee@nymc.edu

     
 

Cell Biology and Anatomy

Joseph D. Etlinger, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
Basic Sciences Building  Rm. 212
(914) 594-4028         Fax (914) 594-4653
e-mail: joseph_etlinger@nymc.edu

     
   

Dental Medicine 

Joseph F. Morales, D.D.S. 
Chair and Professor of Clinical Dental Medicine

Metropolitan Hospital Center 
1901 First Avenue, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10029 
(212 ) 423-8977          Fax (212) 423-8495
e-mail: joseph_morales@nymc.edu

     
   

Dermatology 

Bijan Safai, M.D.
Chair and Professor

Metropolitan Hospital Center 
1901 First Avenue  Rm. 1208 
New York, NY 10029 
(212) 423-7467         Fax (212) 423-8464 
e-mail: safai@aol.com

     
   

Emergency Medicine 

Gregory L. Almond, M.D., M.P.H., M.S.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine 

Metropolitan Hospital Center 
1901 First Avenue  Rm. 2A18
New York, New York 10029 
(212) 423-7175      Fax (212) 423-6383
e-mail: Gregory.almond@nychhc.org

     
 

Family and Community Medicine 

Sonia A. Velez, M.D., J.D. 
Interim Chair and Assistant Professor
 
New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 1S-D43
(914) 594-2260         Fax (914) 594-2261

     
   

Medicine

William H. Frishman, M.D.
Professor and The Barbara & William Rosenthal Chair of Medicine

New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 2N-D24
(914) 594-2080       Fax (914) 594-2081
e-mail: william_frishman@nymc.edu

     
   

Microbiology and Immunology

Ira Schwartz, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College
Basic Sciences Building, Rm. 308
(914) 594-4175     Fax (914) 594-4176
e-mail: schwartz@nymc.edu

     
   

Neurology

Brij Singh Ahluwalia, M.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 1S-K09
(914) 594-2200      Fax (914) 594-2201
e-mail: brij_singh@nymc.edu

     
Meic H. Schmidt (9-19-16)   

Neurosurgery

Meic Schmidt, M.D., M.B.A., FAANS, FACS 
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 1S-M05 
(914) 493-5098      Fax (914) 493-2424

     
   

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Howard Blanchette, M.D. 
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, Rm. 2N-B04
(914) 594-2110       Fax (914)594-2111
e-mail: howard_blanchette@nymc.edu

     
Kelly A. Hutcheson, M.D., M.B.A.   

Ophthalmology

Kelly A. Hutcheson, M.D., M.B.A.
Chair

New York Medical College
40 Sunshine Cottage Rd.
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 594-4000

     
   

Orthopedic Surgery

David E. Asprinio, M.D.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Orthopedic Surgery

Macy Pavilion Rm. S-008
Phone: (914) 493-8743     
Fax: (914) 493-1230
Bradhurst: (914) 789-2734
Email: david_asprinio@nymc.edu
Email: david.asprinio@wmchealth.org (preferred)

     
 ‌Augustine Moscatello (11-17-16)  

Otolaryngology

Augustine Moscatello, M.D.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Otolaryngology

Otolaryngology Faculty Practice
1055 Saw Mill River Rd. Ste. 101
Ardsley, NY 10502
(914) 693-7636      Fax: (914) 693-5994
e-mail: a_moscatello@nymc.edu

     
   

Pathology

John T. Fallon III, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
Basic Sciences Building  Rm. 413
(914) 594-4545       Fax (914) 594-4163
e-mail: john_fallon@nymc.edu

     
   

Pediatrics 

Leonard J. Newman, M.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 1N-C26
(914) 594-2100         Fax (914) 594-2101
e-mail: lnewman21@aol.com

     
   

Pharmacology

Michal Laniado Schwartzman, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
Basic Sciences Building  Rm. 527A
(914) 594-3116         Fax (914) 347-4956
e-mail: michal_schwartzman@nymc.edu

     
 

Physiology

Thomas H. Hintze, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
Basic Sciences Building  Rm. 613
(914) 594-3633       Fax (914) 594-4108
e-mail: thomas_hintze@nymc.edu

     
   

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Stephen Ferrando, M.D.
Chair and Har Esh Professor

Westchester Medical Center
Behavioral Health Center Rm. N325
(914) 493-7120     Fax (914) 493-1015
e-mail: stephen_ferrando@nymc.edu

     
   

Radiation Medicine

Chitti R. Moorthy, M.D.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Radiation Medicine

Westchester Medical Center
Macy Pavilion  Rm. 1297
(914) 493-1408        Fax (914) 493-8321
e-mail: moorthyc@wcmc.com

     
   

Radiology

Zvi Lefkovitz, M.D.
Chair and Director
Professor of Clinical Radiology 

Westchester Medical Center 
University Hospital Main Building   Rm. SW 266
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 493-6692      Fax (914) 493-6932
e-mail: LefkovitzZ@wcmc.com

     
   

Rehabilitation Medicine

Eduardo Lopez, M.D.
The Catherine and Vladislav P. Hinterbuchner Professor and Chair of Rehabilitation Medicine

New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 2N-B14 
(914) 594-2090         Fax (914) 594-2091
e-mail: eduardo_lopez@nymc.edu

     
   

Surgery

John A. Savino, M.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 1S-B60 
(914) 594-2050         Fax (914) 594-2051
e-mail: john_savino@nymc.edu

     
   

Urology

Muhammad Choudhury, M.D.
Chair and Professor

New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive  Rm. 1S-B48 
(914) 594-2430         Fax (914) 594-2431
e-mail: muhammad_choudhury@nymc.edu

 



SCHOOL OF HEALTH SCIENCES AND PRACTICE DEPARTMENT CHAIRS

Mark J. Kittleson, Ph.D.   

Public Health

Mark J. Kittleson, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor of Public Health (Effective January 2018)

School of Health Sciences & Practice
40 Sunshine Cottage Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 594-4851  Fax (914) 594-4292
email: mkittleson@nymc.edu

     
 

Physical Therapy

Michael J. Majsak, P.T., Ed.D.
Chair and Associate Professor

SHSP Building, Rm. 302
New York Medical College 
(914) 594-4915
e-mail: michael_majsak@nymc.edu

     
 

Speech-Language Pathology

Kathleen Franklin, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor

SHSP Building, Rm. 215
New York Medical College 
(914) 594-4239
e-mail: kathleen_franklin@nymc.edu