NYMC > Commencement > History, Awards and Traditions > Previous Honorary Degree Recipients

Previous Commencement Speakers

Year     Honorary Degree Recipient and/or Commencement Speaker

Robert M. Califf, M.D.
The Donald F. Fortin M.D. Professor of Cardiology, Duke University School of Medicine
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Commissioner (2016-2017)




Steven Wartman, M.D., Ph.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Association of Academic Health Centers
Association of Academic Health Centers International

2015   Jan K Richardson, Ph.D., PT, OCS, FAPTA
Professor Emeritus
Duke University School of Medicine
2014   Elizabeth Nabel, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
President, Brigham and Women's Health Care

and former Director of the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
2013       Adewale Troutman, M.D., M.P.H., M.A., C.P.H.
American Public Health Association
2012    Edward C. Halperin, M.D., M.A.
Chancellor for Health Affairs and Chief Executive Officer
New York Medical College
2011   Darrell G. Kirch, M.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

Peter Frelinghuysen, Esq.
Chairman of the Board of Directors
The New York Eye and Ear Infirmary

John C. McGiff, M.D.
Chairman of the Department of Pharmacology
New York Medical College

Ralph A. O’Connell, M.D.
Provost and Dean of the School of Medicine


Daniel P. Sulmasy, O.F.M., M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Director, Institute for Bioethics
New York Medical College


Susan A. Kline, M.D.
Vice Provost, University Student Affairs,
Executive Vice Dean, Academic Affairs
New York Medical College