NYMC > News and Events > News Archives > 2017 > SHSP Honor Society Inductees

SHSP Applauds New Honor Society Inductees

InTouch 6-12-17

The School of Health Sciences and Practice (SHSP) celebrated its newest members of the Delta Alpha Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health, and Alpha Eta, the national honor society for allied health professionals at its second annual induction ceremony on May 18. This year, Delta Alpha inducted 15 new members and Alpha Eta welcomed 17 new members, including students, alumni and faculty who meet the societies’ rigorous criteria. View the photo gallery here.

Both the Delta Omega and Alpha Eta honor societies recognize outstanding scholarship and achievements in their respective fields. Members are inducted by chapters through a highly-selective process. Delta Omega was formed at Johns Hopkins University in 1924. Today Delta Omega has more than 100 chapters throughout the world and more than 20,000 members from top echelons of graduate schools and programs of public health and the public health community. Alpha Eta was formed in 1973 at the University of Florida to promote and recognize significant scholarship, leadership, and contributions to the allied health professions. Eligibility for membership into one of Alpha Eta’s 85 chapters requires demonstrated academic, scholarly and clinical excellence.

Congratulations to the 2017 Inductees.

Inductees to Delta Omega

Student Inductees from Public Health
Faith Oyindamola Ajayi
Asha Mary Alex
Andrea Cawein
Heath Allen Davis
Sharon B. Goldfinger
Annelise Marie Lupica
Jonna Ortiz Mercado
Jorge L. Ruiz
Melissa Singh
Margaret Saba Smith

Alumni Inductees from Public Health
Karel Amaranth, M.P.H. ’10
Linda Assante, M.P.H. ’12
Daniel Carrion, M.P.H. ’11
Melissa Lang, Dr.P.H. ’12
Junaid Maqsood, M.P.H. ’14

Faculty Inductee from Public Health
Penny Liberatos, M.A., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Epidemiology and Community Health
Director of M.P.H. Studies, Behavioral Sciences and Health Promotion

Honorary Inductee from Public Health
Patricia Schnabel Ruppert, D.O., M.P.H., C.P.E., DABFM, FAAFP
Commissioner, Rockland County Health Department
Distinguished Lecturer, Department of Epidemiology and Community Health

Inductees to Alpha Eta

Student Inductees from Speech-Language Pathology
Isabella May Diaz
Caitlin Maureen Dombkowski
Mary Liguori
Erin Cullen McGee
Kerry Anne Reilly
Jennifer Ann Sparano
Sarah Sakaino West

Student Inductees from Physical Therapy
Cydni Matsuoko, photo left
Becky Wos, photo right

Faculty Inductee from Speech-Language Pathology
Monica McHenry, Ph.D., CCC-SLP
Professor of Speech-Language Pathology

Faculty Inductee from Physical Therapy
Kristina M. Welsome, M.S.P.T., D.P.T., OCS, CFMT, MTC, photo center
Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy