NYMC > School of Medicine (SOM) > About SOM > Academic Chairs

Academic Chairs

   

Anesthesiology 
vacant
Department of Anesthesiology
Macy Pavilion, Room 2389
Phone: (914) 493-7693      
Fax: (914) 493-7927

 

     
 Joseph Morales  

Dental Medicine
Joseph F. Morales, D.D.S. 
Chairman and Professor of Dental Medicine
Metropolitan Hospital Center 
1901 First Avenue, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10029 
(212 ) 423-8977        Fax (212) 423-8495
email: joseph_morales@nymc.edu

     
   

Dermatology
Bijan Safai, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Dermatology
Metropolitan Hospital Center 
1901 First Avenue Rm. 1208 
New York, NY 10029 
(212) 423-7467       Fax (212) 423-8464 
email: safai@aol.com

     
   

Emergency Medicine
Gregory L. Almond, M.D., M.P.H., M.S.
Chairman and Professor of Emergency Medicine 
Metropolitan Hospital Center 
1901 First Avenue Rm. 2A18
New York, New York 10029 
(212) 423-7175      Fax (212) 423-6383
email: Gregory.almond@nychhc.org

     
   

Family and Community Medicine
Sonia A. Velez, M.D., J.D.
Interim Chair
Assistant Professor of Family & Community Medicine
Department of Family & Community Medicine
New York Medical College
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-D43
(914) 594-2260      Fax (914) 594-2261
email: stjosfp@saintjosephs.org 

     
   

Medicine
William H. Frishman, M.D.
Professor and The Barbara & William Rosenthal Chair of Medicine
Department of Medicine
New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive, 2N-D24
(914) 594-2080       Fax (914) 594-2081
email: william_frishman@nymc.edu

     
   

Neurology
Brij Singh Ahluwalia, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Neurology
New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-K09
(914) 594-2200      Fax (914) 594-2201
email: brij_singh@nymc.edu

     
Meic H. Schmidt (9-19-16)   Neurosurgery
Meic Schmidt, M.D., M.B.A., FAANS, FACS
Chairman of Neurosurgery
New York Medical College
Westchester Medical Center
Macy Pavilion, Suite 1325-1333
100 Woods Road
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 493-5098      Fax (914) 493-2424
email: meic.schmidt@wmchealth.org
     
   

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Howard Blanchette, M.D. 
Professor and Chairman
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive, 2N-B04 
(914) 594-2110         Fax (914)594-2111
email: howard_blanchette@nymc.edu

     
 Kelly A. Hutcheson, M.D., M.B.A.  

Ophthalmology
Kelly A. Hutcheson, M.D., M.B.A.
Chair of Opthalmology
New York Medical College
40 Sunshine Cottage Rd.
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 594-4000

     
   

Orthopedic Surgery
David E. Asprinio, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Orthopedic Surgery
New York Medical College 
Macy Pavilion Rm. S-008 
(914) 493-8743      Fax (914) 493-1230
Bradhurst Tel (914) 789-2734  
email: david_asprinio@nymc.edu
email: aspriniod@wcmc.com

     
 Augustine Moscatello (11-17-16)  

Otolaryngology
Augustine Moscatello, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Clinical Otolaryngology
Otolaryngology Faculty Practice
1055 Saw Mill River Rd. Ste. 101
Ardsley, NY 10502
(914) 693-7636      Fax: (914) 693-5994
email: a_moscatello@nymc.edu

     
   

Pediatrics
Leonard J. Newman, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Pediatrics
New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive, 1N-C26
(914) 594-2100         Fax (914) 594-2101
email: lnewman21@aol.com

     
   

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stephen Ferrando, M.D.
Har Esh Professor and Chairman
Dept. of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
New York Medical College
Behavioral Health Center-N325
(914) 493-7120     Fax (914) 493-1015
email: stephen_ferrando@nymc.edu

     
   

Radiation Medicine
Chitti R. Moorthy, M.D.
Chairman and Professor of Clinical Radiation Medicine
Department of Radiation Medicine
New York Medical College
Macy Pavilion, Room 1297
(914) 493-1408      Fax (914) 493-8321
email: moorthyc@wcmc.com

     
   

Radiology
Zvi Lefkovitz, M.D.
Chairman and Director of Radiology 
Professor of Clinical Radiology 
Westchester Medical Center 
Main Building, SW 266
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 493-6692    Fax (914) 493-6932
email: LefkovitzZ@wcmc.com

     
  Rehabilitation Medicine
Eduardo Lopez, M.D.
Chairman of Rehabilitation Medicine
Associate Professor of Clinical Rehabilitation Medicine
New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive, 2N-B14 
(914) 594-2090      Fax (914) 594-2091
email: eduardo_lopez@nymc.edu
     
 Rifat Latifi, M.D.  

Surgery

Rifat Latifi, M.D.
Professor and Chairman of Surgery
New York Medical College
Department of Surgery - 1S-B64
40 Sunshine Cottage Rd.
Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 594-2050     Fax (914)594-2051
email: Rifat_Latifi@nymc.edu

     
   

Urology
Muhammad Choudhury, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Urology
New York Medical College 
19 Skyline Drive, 1S-B48 
(914) 594-2430       Fax (914) 594-2431
email: muhammad_choudhury@nymc.edu