New York Medical College

Press Releases



Valhalla, N.Y., June 18, 2013—A world-renowned gastroenterologist from the Mayo Clinic, the sole physician serving in the 188-member General Assembly of the Maryland House of Delegates, and a longtime revered member of the faculty will be honored this fall at New York Medical College’s Founder’s Dinner.

The annual fundraising gala will take place on Sunday, October 20, 2013 at Glen Island Harbour Club in New Rochelle, N.Y. After soliciting nominations from alumni from around the nation, College faculty, students and employees, the Founder’s Dinner advisory committee chose three distinguished recipients for the William Cullen Bryant Award, the Distinguished Service Award, and the Jackson E. Spears Community Service Award, to be presented at the gala.

The William Cullen Bryant Award recognizes individuals who, in the tradition of the College’s founder, William Cullen Bryant, demonstrate distinguished leadership in health care, science, education, business or the arts. It will be presented to Nicholas F. LaRusso, M.D. ’69, the Charles H. Weinman Endowed Professor of Medicine, Distinguished Investigator of the Mayo Foundation, and medical director of the Mayo Clinic for Connected Care at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. The former president of the American Gastroenterology Association served as chair of Mayo’s Department of Medicine for 10 years, fostering new levels of excellence in practice, research and service. He has made seminal contributions to the basic and clinical understanding of cholangiopathies, a group of diseases affecting the bile duct epithelial cells. Under his leadership, the department rose to the top 10 NIH-funded departments of medicine in the nation in 2009. Dr. LaRusso was nominated for the honor by his classmate Richard J. Macchia, M.D.’69, of the Cleveland Clinic.

The Jackson E. Spears Community Service Award is bestowed upon individuals or organizations who have demonstrated exceptional service and commitment to their communities. The award honors the late Jackson E. Spears, who served as a member of the College’s Board of Trustees from 1943 to 2003. This year the award will honor Dan Morhaim, M.D. ’75, the only physician in the 188-member General Assembly of the Maryland House of Delegates. He has been a leader in legislation concerning health care, the environment, and streamlining government operations and is the author of The Better End: Surviving (and Dying) on Your Own Terms in Today’s Modern Medical World. His distinguished career spans decades of clinical medicine and public policy, and he practices emergency and internal medicine when the legislature is not in session. He served as chair of the Department Emergency Medicine at a large community teaching hospital while building a 90-doctor, 6-hospital group practice. A member of the faculty in the Department of Health Policy and Management of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, he has led the way on numerous initiatives to promote public health and the practice of medicine in Maryland. Dr. Morhaim was nominated for the honor by classmate Michael Auerbach, M.D. ’75.

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual who has helped advance the College’s mission of education and research though service, commitment and expert ability. This year’s award will be presented to Norman Levine, Ph.D., professor of physiology and president of the Faculty Senate. Dr. Levine joined the College faculty in 1973 and served as president of the senate from 1985 to 1987 and from 1991 to present. His research focuses on renal and reproductive physiology and maintenance of the ionic milieu of cells in a variety of organs. He founded and serves as director of the summer medical physiology course and organizes courses in the Graduate School of Basic Medical Sciences on the topics of renal and membrane physiology, endocrinology, and physiology of reproduction. He is program director for the very successful Accelerated Master’s Program, a track that enables students to take selected pre-clinical medical school courses and complete the requirements for a Master of Science degree in Basic Medical Sciences within one year. He has been chairman and member of faculty committees including the Executive Committee, Compensation Committee, Promotions Committee, LCME steering committee, and many search committees. Colleagues touted Dr. Levine’s ability to handle sensitive matters with great diplomacy, integrity and finesse as having a lasting beneficial impact on academic life at New York Medical College. Dr. Levine was nominated for the award by Thomas H. Hintze, Ph.D. ’80, professor and chairman of the Department of Physiology, supported by the physiology faculty.

For more information on the Founder’s Dinner, please contact 914-594-4550 or


Donna Moriarty, M.P.H. ’04
O: (914) 594-4536 | C: (914) 439-5989