NYMC > Faculty > Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

The purpose of the Faculty Senate is to provide a mechanism through which the faculty can efficiently use its talents and resources to participate, in a collegial manner, in academic governance; and, thereby, counsel and assist the College in its mission of maintaining a scholarly environment in which to provide and develop excellence in teaching, research and clinical service.

The faculty organization is composed of:

1. Elected Faculty Senate

2. President, Executive Vice-President, Secretary and Regional Vice-Presidents for the Basic Sciences and for each of the Academic Medical Centers and University Hospitals

3. Committees

      1. Committees of the Faculty Senate that shall include as members only Senators or Officers of the Faculty Organization. These committees are the Executive Committee, the Nominating Committee and the Grievance Committee.
      2. Committees of the Faculty shall include the Student Admissions Committee; Education and Curriculum Committee; Tenure, Appointments and Promotions Committee; Faculty Compensation Committee; Advisory Committee on Graduate Medical Education. Appointments to these committees will be made by the Dean from a preferred list of faculty submitted by the Executive Committee of the Senate. Additional members may be appointed by the Dean in order to ensure an effective committee. The Executive Committee shall also forward to the Dean a list of suggested faculty to chair these respective committees. 
      3. Standing Committees of the Faculty shall include the Student Promotions Committees; Student Financial Aid Committee; Faculty-Student Relations Committee; Library and Academic Support Committee; Protection of Human Subjects Committee; Animal Care Committee; Radioisotope Committee; Biosafety Committee; Fellowship Review Committee and the Intellectual Property/Patent Committee.

President of the Faculty Senate

Carl I. Thompson, Ph.D.
Professor of Physiology, Physiology Program Director and Medical Physiology Course Director
Basic Science Building, 647
Email: carl_thompson@nymc.edu
Office Phone: (914) 594-4106

Useful Documents