NYMC > News and Events > News Archives > 2016 > New Member Honor Societies

NYMC Inducts New Members into Delta Omega and Alpha Eta Honor Societies

On April 4, the School of Health Sciences and Practice (SHSP) held a dual-induction ceremony, welcoming a second class of members into Delta Alpha, SHSP’s chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health, as well as inaugurating the first class of inductees into Alpha Eta, the national honor society for allied health professionals.
SHSP’s Alpha Eta chapter, officially Alpha Eta 83, was introduced this spring as a joint venture between Touro College and University System and NYMC. Together, the two schools meet the society’s requirement of education in at least three allied health professions (Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physician Assistant and Speech-Language Pathology).
Both the Delta Omega and Alpha Eta honor societies exist to recognize and inspire outstanding scholarship and achievements in their respective fields. Delta Omega was formed at Johns Hopkins University in 1924 and Alpha Eta was formed in 1973 at the University of Florida.
This year, Delta Alpha inducted 15 new members and Alpha Eta 83 welcomed more than 40 inaugural members, including students, alumni, faculty and administration who meet the society’s criteria.
“Election of membership in Delta Omega is intended to not only recognize merit,” said David Moskowitz, Ph.D., associate professor of epidemiology and community health, who initiated the formation of the Delta Alpha Chapter at SHSP, “but also to encourage and further excellence in and devotion to public health work. Our inductees exhibit high academic standards and outstanding performance in scholarship, teaching, research and community service. This is truly a meaningful acknowledgement.”
“We were motivated to form a chapter of Alpha Eta by the work and success of Dr. Moskowitz in forming the Delta Alpha chapter of Delta Omega last year and we are grateful to Dr. Kate Franklin, chair and associate professor of our Speech-Language Pathology program for leading the effort,” said SHSP vice dean and professor of Speech-Language Pathology, Ben C. Watson, Ph.D. “At SHSP, we have a remarkable pool of students, alumni and faculty who warrant recognition and we are very pleased to have been able to partner with the Touro School of Health Sciences to honor them in this way.” Dr. Watson too was inducted into Alpha Eta 83 this year.
Congratulations to the 2016 Inductees.
Inductees to the Delta Alpha Chapter of Delta Omega
Student Inductees

Jibi Alexander, Behavioral Sciences and Health Promotion
Lee Cortez, Environmental Health Sciences
Lawrence Eisenstein, Health Policy and Management
Thao Doan, Health Policy and Management
Semsa Gogcu, Health Policy and Management
Ingrid Maurice, Behavioral Sciences and Health Promotion
Crystal Treat, Epidemiology
Julie Williams, Health Policy and Management

Alumni Inductees

Tiffany Channer, M.P.H., M.L.S. (ASCP)CM, Health Policy and Management, 2013
Elizabeth Drugge, Ph.D., M.P.H., Epidemiology, 2012
Agustina Lopez-Novillo, M.P.H., M.S., Environmental Health Sciences, 2014
Jesse Rosenblatt, M.P.H., Health Policy and Management, 2014
Jason Tenzer, M.P.H., Health Policy and Management, 2004

Faculty Inductee

Lydia Cavieux, M.P.A., RHIT, Assistant Dean, Office of eLearning, Assistant Professor of Public Health

Honorary Inductee

Sherlita Amler, M.D., M.S., FAAP, Commissioner of Health, Westchester County

 Inductees to the Alpha Eta Chapter 83

Student Inductees from Speech-Language Pathology

Mollie Bashan (Adoni)
Alana Fabish
Eileen Gill
Melissa Levy
Emily Meci
Lauren Menchini
Nicolette Sinagra

Student Inductees from Physical Therapy

Allyson Cannella
Gregory Rawlings

Alumni Inductees from Speech-Language Pathology

Jessica Breidbord, Speech-Language Pathology, 2011
Raquel Brown, Speech-Language Pathology, 2013
Monica Caputo, Speech-Language Pathology, 2012
Natalia Carr, Speech-Language Pathology, 2012
Nicole DeJulio, Speech-Language Pathology, 2015
Amanda DelGiacco,Speech-Language Pathology,  2014
Katherine Elsasser, Speech-Language Pathology, 2010
Kortney Eng, Speech-Language Pathology, 2014
Lina Fox, Speech-Language Pathology, 2015
Stephanie Halvax, Speech-Language Pathology, 2015
Jill Leabman, Speech-Language Pathology, 2015
Susana Lee, Speech-Language Pathology, 2015
Laurel Lovelett, Speech-Language Pathology, 2015
Michele Naclerio, Speech-Language Pathology, 2012
Jenna O'Sullivan,Speech-Language Pathology,  2010
Rebecca Reina, Speech-Language Pathology, 2013
Rachel Sylla, Speech-Language Pathology, 2011
Joshua Teitcher, Speech-Language Pathology, 2013
Lynn Tondrick, Speech-Language Pathology, 2010
Jaclyn Tripodi, Speech-Language Pathology, 2011
Kristen Walters, Speech-Language Pathology, 2014
Lindsey Wilson, Speech-Language Pathology, 2012

Alumni Inductees from Physical Therapy

Carolyn Kirkup DeGoria, P.T., D.P.T., ATC., LAT, Physical Therapy, 2013

Faculty Inductees from Speech-Language Pathology

Kate Franklin, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, Department Chair and Associate Professor of Speech-Language Pathology
Kathleen Kaiser, M.S., CCC-SLP, Director of Clinical Education and Assistant Professor of Speech-Language Pathology
Barbara Leader, M.A., CCC-SLP, Assistant Professor of Speech-Language Pathology
Luis F. Riquelme, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, BCS-S, Associate Professor of Speech-Language Pathology
Robert Volin, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, Associate Professor of Speech-Language Pathology
Ben Watson, Ph.D., Vice Dean, School of Health Sciences and Practice, Professor of Speech-Language Pathology

Faculty Inductees from Physical Therapy

Catherine Curtis, P.T., M.A., Ed.M., Ed.D., Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy
Janet Dolot, P.T., D.P.T., Dr.P.H., OCS, COMPT, Assistant Professor of Clinical Physical Therapy
Gale Lavinder, P.T., Ed.D., Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy
Michael Majsak, P.T., Ed.D., Department Chair and Associate Professor of Physical Therapy
Susan Ronan, P.T., M.A., D.P.T., PCS, Assistant Professor of Clinical Physical Therapy