NYMC > News and Events > News Archives > 2016 > NYAM Fellowship

Four Members of the NYMC Community Are Selected for NYAM Fellowship

The New York Academy of Medicine held its prestigious annual awards ceremony for distinguished contributions by individuals in health policy, public health, clinical practice, biomedical research at the 169th Anniversary Discourse and Awards on November 3 at the Academy in New York City. Among the evening’s honorees were newly inducted fellows, from left: D. Douglas Miller, M.D., C.M., M.B.A., dean of the School of Medicine; Sherlita Amler, M.D., M.S., distinguished lecturer in the School of Health Sciences and Practice and clinical associate professor of pediatrics; Amy Ansehl, M.S.N., D.N.P., FNP-C, assistant dean, associate professor of public health practice, executive director of the Partnership for a Healthy Population and assistant professor of family and community medicine; Patricia Schnabel Ruppert, D.O., M.P.H., distinguished lecturer in the Department of Epidemiology and Community Health.

“The individuals recognized this year have each made significant contributions to the health of the public through innovative research, practice, policy, or programs that address the complex determinants of health,” said Jo Ivey Boufford, M.D., academy president. “The New York Academy of Medicine is proud to honor each of these leaders for their outstanding accomplishments.” 

Donna Shalala, Ph.D., president of the Clinton Foundation and former Secretary for Health and Human Services, delivered the 169th Anniversary Discourse on the topic of future directions for the health system in America.

The Academy’s esteemed Fellows program, the foundation on which the Academy was established in 1847, includes more than 2,000 individuals elected by their peers from across the medical and health professions, and other disciplines affecting health. Fellows are distinguished health professionals who embody the highest levels of achievement and leadership in urban health. Candidates for Fellowship must be proposed by a Fellow of the Academy and seconded by two additional Fellows.