NYMC > News and Events > News Archives > 2016 > NYMC Honored at Doctors of Distinction

NYMC Honored at Doctors of Distinction Awards Ceremony

Intouch 11/7/16
Three members of the NYMC community were honored at the fourth annual Doctors of Distinction Awards ceremony on October 27. The event, co-sponsored by the Westchester County Business Journal and Citrin Cooperman, was held at the Clinical Skills and Simulation Center on the NYMC campus. Edward C. Halperin, M.D., M.A., chancellor and chief executive officer, gave the keynote address stressing the need for public funding and interest in biomedical research. 
From left: William H. Frishman, M.D., the Barbara and William Rosenthal Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine, and professor of pharmacology, was honored with the Cutting Edge Award for excellence in medical research. Lydia Bunker, School of Medicine Class of 2017, president of the Student Senate, received the Promise for the Future Award recognizing a medical student who excels in his or her studies and will bring compassionate care and a fresh perspective to the medical profession. Farah Ansari, M.D., a third-year resident in the NYMC Family Medicine Residency Program at Phelps Memorial Hospital was awarded the Physician in Training Award in recognition of a medical resident who is putting his or her rigorous studies into action in preparation for successfully pursuing a career in medicine.