NYMC > News and Events > News Archives > 2017 > NYMC Among Doctors of Distinction

NYMC Among Doctors of Distinction

Four members of the NYMC community were among the honorees at the fourth annual Doctors of Distinction Awards ceremony, held at the C.V. Rich Mansion in White Plains, N.Y., on October 24. Michael Tarr, back center, School of Medicine Class of 2018, was the recipient of the Promise for the Future Award given to a medical student who excels in his studies and will bring compassionate care and a fresh perspective to the medical profession. Inspired by his sister who was born with severe intellectual disabilities, Mr. Tarr founded the NYMC chapter of the American Academy of Developmental Medicine and Dentistry (AADMD) and is the AADMD virtual grand rounds facilitator, organizing webinars with topics for medical providers on how to best treat patients with developmental and intellectual disabilities. NYMC faculty members were also among the Doctors of Distinction: Ashutosh Kaul, M.D., back left, professor of surgery and program director of the minimally invasive surgery fellowship program, who received the Cutting Edge Award; Annebeth Litt, M.D., front center, clinical assistant professor of medicine and medical director and director of primary care at the Westchester Institute for Human Development, who was the recipient of the Caring For All Award; and Rifat Latifi, M.D., not pictured, professor of surgery, director, Department of Surgery and program director, Surgical Critical Care Fellowship, who was honored with the No Land Too Far Award.