NYMC > News and Events > News Archives

Graduate Student Association Aims to Enhance Student Life

The new officers of the Graduate Student Association (GSA) in the Graduate School of Basic Medical Sciences (GSBMS) have been hard at work, aiming to enhance graduate student life, both socially and professionally, in their first few months in office.

January 13, 2020
Graduate Student Association Group Headshot
GSBMS Graduate Student Association Snowman Project

“This project brings together members from all areas of the New York Medical College (NYMC) community to help make a positive influence on the community during the holiday season,” said Ms. Tefft.

The annual Graduate Student Research Forum (GSRF) is also a product of the hard work of the GSA and is set to take place on March 17. “We are looking forward to promoting students’ professional development at the Graduate Student Research Forum. Our goal is to have a record number of students participate in the forum this year,” said Ms. Tefft.

For Ms. Tefft, being the president of the GSA means having the opportunity to ensure the students’ best interests are foremost, as well as the opportunity to foster a sense of community that makes students feel like they have a home here at NYMC. “As an out-of-state student new to the area last fall, being on the GSA executive board helped me to feel more connected with the school and our community,” Ms. Tefft said. “Now, being president, I am in the position to be able to welcome other students into the NYMC community and help them to feel at home here.”

To further support the experience of students in the GSBMS, the GSA also hosts events such as “Take a Break,” providing food and drinks outside of the library for students to take a break from studying and have a snack.

Photo from left: Oshoname Olorife, vice chair of the Graduate Student Research Forum; Nadeen Matari, treasurer; Sasha Gonzalez, chair of the Graduate Student Research Forum; Kira LeBron, secretary; Caitlin Gaudio, chair of community outreach; Harry Haran, vice president; and Kristy Tefft, president.