NYMC > News and Events > News Archives

Members of the School of Medicine Class of 2020 Inducted into GHHS

The New York Medical College (NYMC) School of Medicine (SOM) was proud to induct 33 members of the Class of 2020 into its chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS), an initiative of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, at a ceremony on April 1.

April 08, 2019
33 members of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS)
SOM Class of 2020 at Gold Humanism Honor Society

The ceremony included opening remarks by Jennifer L. Koestler, M.D., senior associate dean for medical education and associate professor of pediatrics and medicine who serves as the GHHS faculty advisor, and an inspirational keynote address by Lidia Klepacz, M.D., assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences. Dr. Klepacz received a Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award, along with Kevin Shayani, SOM Class of 2019. The awards recognize graduating students and faculty members who demonstrate both clinical excellence and outstanding compassion in the delivery of care and who show respect for patients, their families and health care colleagues.

After receiving their GHHS pins and certificates, inductees took the GHHS oath to model, support and advocate for compassionate, patient-centered care throughout their careers.

“I want all of you take a moment to take in the space you're in, the seat you're sitting in and the purpose of your induction in Gold Humanism Honor Society,” said Musaub Khan, SOM Class of 2019 and GHHS co-president. “Because by remembering today, you will remember not to look at a patient differently because of their skin tone, you will not treat a patient differently because of their insurance status, and you will not make assumptions about a patient because she wears a headscarf or has braids. It is imperative to keep this in mind as you move forward in your careers.”


School of Medicine Class of 2020 Gold Humanism Honor Society Inductees

Ebrahim Afshinnekoo

Justine Anderson

Nicholas Bacher

Medha Biswas

Leora Boussi

Alicia Brady

Katherine Carome

Brianna Evans

Joel Fandel

Rucci Marcus Foo

Reid Goodman

Dana Greene

Kenneth Guber

Mashfiq Hasan

Ian Hunter

Robert Kane

Irva Khan

Michael Kody

Donna Koo

Nikathan Kumar

Jennifer Lindelof

Stanislas Monfront

Jayaji More

Evelyn Orlando

Jessica Row

Dayana Sanchez

Hannah Sandt

Sarah Spiegel

Brianna Carusillo Theriault

Jennifer Tornay

Giovanna Varuzza

Gabriella Velasquez

Jenny Wu

SOM Gold Humanism Honor Society Induction Ceremony