NYMC > News and Events > News Archives > 2018 > AOA Frishman

AOA Celebrates News Inductees and Honors Longtime Councilor, William H. Frishman, M.D.

AOA with Dr. Frishman

Celebrating its annual lecture, banquet and induction ceremony on May 1, the New York Medical College (NYMC) Iota chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society, had a particularly momentous evening. In addition to recognizing the illustrious inductees, Iota chapter’s councilor, William H. Frishman, M.D., left, the Barbara and William Rosenthal Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine and professor of pharmacology, made AOA history this year for his 40-year tenure as councilor, the longest tenure in AOA’s 116-year history, as well as for holding the distinction of being the only councilor in two different medical schools and chapters—Albert Einstein College of Medicine at Yeshiva University and NYMC. Over the course of his tenure, Dr. Frishman has helped induct more than 1,300 students and 250 faculty, alumni and residents. Dr. Frishman presented this year’s AOA lecture, “The Search for Excellence: An Academic Odyssey.” View the AOA Lecture and Induction Ceremony photo gallery

“The AOA banquet was a celebration of dedication, hard work, perseverance and accomplishments. It’s also an event to honor the guests, faculty and staff who have been our teachers, mentors, support systems and often, our friends. It is a union of kindred spirits,” said Iota chapter vice president, Jannatun Sikder.

Balakrishna (Balu) Vemula, right, the current AOA Iota chapter president, said introducing Dr. Frishman was personally meaningful. “I was happy for this opportunity to introduce someone who has made such a remarkable impact on medicine,” he said.  

In addition to the medical students who were inducted for their academic excellence, professionalism and promise of becoming leaders in the profession, NYMC alumni and faculty were also inducted and resident teaching and volunteer clinical faculty awards were presented.

New York Iota Chapter Officers

Vice President
Academic Coordinator
Volunteer Coordinator
          Balakrishna Vemula
Jannatun Sikder
Michael Doany 
Shannon Cain

Class of 2018 Junior AOA Inductees

Eve Ayeroff
Shannon Cain
Catherine Callinan
Michael Doany 
Mark Dunlop
                Zachary Gray
Sean McDougall
Jannatun Sikder
Madison Stellfox
Balakrishna Vemula 

Class of 2018 Senior AOA Inductees

Natalie Alvarez
Erin Buchanan
Lindsey Channen
Marina Corines 
Ryan Dean   
Stephanie DeLuca
Devon Drew 
John Duffy
Arielle Effron
Breana Hill 
Jessa Hoffman
Ryan Horn  
Chun Wai Hung
Jillian Jacobson 
Joshua Junge 
                Malka Kirschenbaum
Christina Lieu
Sherry Liou
Ashley Llyod
Thomas Mehuron
William Mosher
David Motola
Katherine Nordgren
Gisele Papo
Michael Reisfeld
Alison Riehm
Anurag Saraf
Madeline Schutt
Aishwarya Sriram
Linda Zhang

Class of 2019 Junior AOA Inductees

Benjamin Catanese
Justin Cole
Laurne Fink 
James Haigney
Joshua Hanau 
Kevin Kenney 
Ariel Kwart  
              Alexander Ladenheim
Tianci Liu
Caitlin Lozano
Adele Shenoy
Ami Trivedi
Nneamaka Ukatu
Alex Ward

 Faculty Inductees

Tejinderpal Singh, M.D., Assistant Professor of Medicine
Kristina Harris Petersen, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Camille A. Clare, M.D., M.P.H. ’11, Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

 AOA Resident Teaching Awards

Khwaja Haq, M.D., Internal Medicine Chief Resident, Westchester Medical Center
Katherine Linder, M.D., Internal Medicine Chief Resident, Westchester Medical Center
Srikanth Yandrapalli, M.D., Internal Medicine Chief Resident, Westchester Medical Center

 Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award

Taj Deen, M.D., Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences