NYMC > Departments > Academic Departments > School of Medicine > Surgery > DelGuercio Day

Louis R.M. Del Guercio, M.D. Professorship and Research Day

This annual symposium is designed for Surgeons, Interventional Radiologists, Anesthesiologists, Intensivists, Researchers and other Allied Health Care professionals involved in the surgical arena. Through presentations and lectures, it is anticipated that upon completion of this activity, participants should be able to gain knowledge about new developments in surgical research and surgical critical care.

Started in 2002, the symposium is a yearly event held in May or December on the campus of New York Medical College, Valhalla, N.Y.  Residents, fellows and medical students from New York Medical College, affiliated and regional hospitals present research in the form of both poster and podium presentations.  Abstracts of completed research projects related to surgical basic science, clinical surgery and/or surgical education are invited from residents, students and fellows of the Department of Surgery, Neurosurgery, Orthopedics, ENT, Urology, and Oral Maxillofacial surgery.  Every medical student, resident and fellow in the regional programs are strongly encouraged to present at least one poster or podium presentation during their training.

The conference is multidisciplinary and multi-institutional, with presentations coming from several surgical specialties and NYMC affiliated and regional hospitals. The Anna Samartzis Research Excellence Award (in honor of a former resident) is given each year for the best clinical paper, basic science paper, and best poster.

Several of the distinguished visiting professors have included:

  • Valentine Fuster, MD, PhD. (Mount Sinai Hospital)
  • Rifat Latifi, M.D. (Health Minister of the Republic of Kosova)
  • Raymond Price, M.D. (University of Utah)
  • Julie Ann Sosa, M.D., M.A. (University of California San Francisco -UCSF)
  • Michal L. Schwartzman, Ph.D. (New York Medical College)
  • Adil H. Haider, M.D., MPH (Harvard Medical School)
  • George C. Velmahos, M.D., Ph.D., MS.Ed. (Harvard Medical School)
  • Carol E.H. Scott-Conner, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A. (University of Iowa)
  • Rifat Latifi, M.D. (University of Arizona)
  • Mark A. Malangoni, M.D. (ABS)
  • David Feliciano, M.D. (Indiana University)
  • Juan Asensio, M.D. (Miami Miller)
  • Harvey Sugerman, M.D. (VCU)
  • Marc Wallack, M.D. (NYMC/Metropolitan)
  • Steven Lowry, M.D. (UMDNJ)
  • James A. O’Neill, M.D. (Vanderbilt University)
  • Timothy C. Fabian, M.D. (University of Tennessee)
  • Stephen V. Barone, Ed.D. (President – Transformation Systems, LLC)
  • Eric J. DeMaria, M.D. (Duke University)
  • Thomas Scalea M.D. (Maryland Shock Trauma)

Current Proceedings:


Previous Proceedings: