NYMC > About NYMC > NYMC Leadership > Academic Chairs

Academic Chairs

The academic chairs listed below are categorized by their respective school. Please make sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to view all the academic chairs.


SCHOOL OF MEDICINE & GRADUATE SCHOOL OF BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES DEPARTMENT CHAIRS

Peter Panzica, M.D., Chair of Anesthesiology   

Anesthesiology 

Peter Panzica, M.D.
Chair and Associate Professor

WMC Macy Pavilion, 2389
Phone: (914) 493-7693
Fax: (914) 493-7927
e-mail: ppanzica@nymc.edu

     
 

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Ernest Y.C. Lee, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

Basic Sciences Building, 109
Phone: (914) 594-4059
Fax: (914) 594-4058
e-mail: ernest_lee@nymc.edu

     
Joseph Etlinger  

Cell Biology and Anatomy

Joseph D. Etlinger, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

Basic Sciences Building, 212
Phone: (914) 594-4028
Fax: (914) 594-4653
e-mail: joseph_etlinger@nymc.edu

     
 Joseph Morales  

Dental Medicine

Joseph F. Morales, D.D.S. 
Chair and Professor of Clinical Dental Medicine

NYC Health + Hospitals/Metropolitan Hospital, 2nd Floor
Phone: (212) 423-8977
Fax: (212) 423-8495
e-mail: joseph_morales@nymc.edu

     
   

Dermatology

Bijan Safai, M.D.
Chair and Professor

NYC Health + Hospitals/Metropolitan Hospital, Room 1208
Phone: (212) 423-7467
Fax: (212) 423-8464 
e-mail: safai@aol.com

     
   

Emergency Medicine

Gregory L. Almond, M.D., M.P.H., M.S.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine 

NYC Health + Hospitals/Metropolitan Hospital, Room 2A18
Phone: (212) 423-7175
Fax: (212) 423-6383
e-mail: Gregory.almond@nychhc.org

     
Lori Solomon, M.D., M.P.H.   

Family and Community Medicine

Lori A. Solomon, M.D. '99, M.P.H. '09
Chair and Clinical Associate Professor

19 Skyline Drive, 1S-D43
Phone: (914) 594-2263
Fax (914) 594-2261
e-mail: lori_solomon@nymc.edu

     
 Neil Schluger  

Medicine

Neil Schluger, M.D.
Barbara and William Rosenthal Professor and Chair of Medicine

19 Skyline Drive, 2N-D24
Phone: (914) 594-2080
Fax: (914) 594-2081

     
   

Neurology

Brij Singh Ahluwalia, M.D.
Chair and Professor

19 Skyline Drive, 1S-K09
Phone: (914) 594-2200
Fax: (914) 594-2201
e-mail: brij_singh@nymc.edu

     
Chirag D. Gandhi, M.D.   

Neurosurgery


Chirag D. Gandhi, M.D.
Chair and Professor

19 Skyline Drive, 1S-M05 
Phone: (914) 493-5098
Fax: (914) 493-2424

     
 Sean Tedjarati, MD, MPH, MBA, FRCS, FACOG  

Obstetrics and Gynecology

Sean Shaheen Tedjarati, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A.
Chair and Clinical Professor

19 Skyline Drive, 2N-B04
Phone: (914) 594-2110
Fax: (914)594-2111

     
Kelly A. Hutcheson, M.D., M.B.A.   

Ophthalmology

Kelly A. Hutcheson, M.D., M.B.A.
Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology

New York Medical College, Valhalla, NY 10595
(914) 594-4000

     
   

Orthopedic Surgery

David E. Asprinio, M.D.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Orthopedic Surgery

Macy Pavilion, S-008
Phone: (914) 493-8743     
Fax: (914) 493-1230
Bradhurst: (914) 789-2734
e-mail: david_asprinio@nymc.edu
e-mail: david.asprinio@wmchealth.org (preferred)

     
 ‌Augustine Moscatello (11-17-16)  

Otolaryngology

Augustine Moscatello, M.D.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Otolaryngology

Otolaryngology Faculty Practice
1055 Saw Mill River Rd. Ste. 101, Ardsley, NY 10502
Phone: (914) 693-7636
Fax: (914) 693-5994
e-mail: a_moscatello@nymc.edu

     
Humayun Islam, M.D., Ph.D.  

Pathology, Microbiology and Immunology

Humayun Islam, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair and Clinical Professor of Pathology and Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine

Basic Sciences Building, 413
Phone: (914) 594-4545
Fax: (914) 594-4163
e-mail: Humayun.Islam@wmchealth.org

     
   

Pediatrics 

Leonard J. Newman, M.D.
Chair and Professor

19 Skyline Drive, 1N-C26
Phone: (914) 594-2100
Fax (914) 594-2101
e-mail: lnewman21@aol.com

     
   

Pharmacology

Michal Laniado Schwartzman, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor

Basic Sciences Building, 527A
Phone: (914) 594-3116
Fax: (914) 347-4956
e-mail: michal_schwartzman@nymc.edu

     
Christopher Leonard, Interim Chair of Physiology   

Physiology

Christopher S. Leonard, Ph.D.
Interim Chair and Professor

Basic Sciences Building, A14
Phone: (914) 594-4085
Fax: (914) 594-4018
e-mail: chris_leonard@nymc.edu

     
   

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Stephen Ferrando, M.D.
Chair and Har Esh Professor

WMC Health/Behavioral Health Center, N325
Phone: (914) 493-7120
Fax (914) 493-1015
e-mail: stephen_ferrando@nymc.edu

     
   

Radiation Medicine

Chitti R. Moorthy, M.D.
Chair and Professor of Clinical Radiation Medicine

WMC Macy Pavilion, 1297
Phone: (914) 493-1408
Fax: (914) 493-8321
e-mail: moorthyc@wcmc.com

     
   

Radiology

Zvi Lefkovitz, M.D.
Chair and Director
Professor of Clinical Radiology 

WMC University Hospital Main Building, SW 266
Phone: (914) 493-6692
Fax (914) 493-6932
e-mail: Zvi.Lefkovitz@wmchealth.org

     
Paul T. Diamond, M.D.   

Rehabilitation Medicine

Paul T. Diamond, M.D.
The Catherine and Vladislav P. Hinterbuchner
Professor and Chair of Rehabilitation Medicine

19 Skyline Drive, 2N-B14
Phone: (914) 594-2090
Fax: (914) 594-2091
e-mail: pdiamond@nymc.edu

     
Rifat Latifi, M.D.   

Surgery

Rifat Latifi, M.D., FACS, FICS
Chair and Professor

19 Skyline Drive, 1S-B60 
Phone: (914) 594-2050
Fax: (914) 594-2051
e-mail: Rifat_Latifi@nymc.edu

     
   

Urology

Muhammad Choudhury, M.D.
Chair and Professor

19 Skyline Drive, 1S-B48 
Phone: (914) 594-2430
Fax (914) 594-2431
e-mail: muhammad_choudhury@nymc.edu

 



SCHOOL OF HEALTH SCIENCES AND PRACTICE DEPARTMENT CHAIRS

Mark J. Kittleson, Ph.D.   

Public Health

Mark J. Kittleson, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor of Public Health

SHSP Building
Phone: (914) 594-4851
Fax: (914) 594-4292
email: mkittleson@nymc.edu

     
 

Physical Therapy

Michael J. Majsak, P.T., Ed.D.
Chair and Associate Professor

SHSP Building, 302
Phone: (914) 594-4915
e-mail: michael_majsak@nymc.edu

     
 

Speech-Language Pathology

Kathleen Franklin, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor

SHSP Building, 215
Phone: (914) 594-4239
e-mail: kathleen_franklin@nymc.edu